Apocryphal

About

Username
Apocryphal
Joined
Visits
474
Last Active
Roles
Member, Moderator

Comments

  • National Trust event? Interesting.
  • Actually, we did read Wool by Hugh Howey - that was definitely PA. @clash_bowley There are quite a few about re-building, and I really enjoy those, too. David Brin's The Postman does this.
  • @clash_bowley said: Is The Hunger the source of the movie of the same name? No, this novel is from 2018 - apparently it does for the Donner party what The Terror did for the Franklin Expedition. https://locusmag.com/2018/05/john-langan…
  • I just now finished The Barrow by Mark Smylie, a fantasy novel set in the Known World setting that he used for his Artesia graphic novels and the Artesia: Adventures in the Known World RPG. This is, honestly, one of my favourite RPG settings ever pu…
  • Thanks @Michael_S_Miller ! I really enjoyed this one, too. It's been playing hard to get for a long time, so take advantage of the new print run while you can.
  • I found this very cool site devoted to all things Arthurian. There are articles, a mailing list, a journal, links to maps, and links to Arthurian books, fiction and non-fiction. So many rabbit holes! arthuriana.org/
  • @dr_mitch Wasn't The Girl With All the Gifts just apocalyptic? I mean, the apocalypse in that book is still happening, right?
  • @dr_mitch said: Who is this Paul Mitchell of whom you speak? Woops! Haha - that's embarrassing. @Ray_Otus led me astray, I swear! While still talking about purely fantasy games, Glorantha is a bronze age setting and the myths are ce…
  • @clash_bowley said: BTW, Neil Gow and I have a very cordial relationship. We each bought the other's game, and liked them. I recommend Beat to Quarters for Story gamers, and he recommends In Harm's Way: Napoleonic Naval for non-Story gamers. …
  • @clash_bowley said: One of these days - soon, now that the PSI/Magic Toolbox is nearing completion - Outremer, Blood Games, and On Her Majesty's Arcane Service will become part of the StarCluster 4 fold, and all will be vastly simplified. …
  • You can tease if you want. It's called Mythic Babylon, published by the Design Mechanism as part of their Mythic series for their game, Mythras. Already published are Mythic Britain (dark ages), Mythic Rome (republic, iron age), and Mythic Constanti…
  • OK, good enough. Paul and I are in the final stages of just such a project, but it won't be out until next year and it's more book that you usually want. But it does have city states up the wazoo. Here's the best of the rest: Red Gods of Babyl…
  • First tell me what you mean by 'bronze age', please.
  • @dr_mitch Slow because you aren't really enjoying it, or slow because that's how you want to read it? Me, I thought it was amazing. My wife didn't care for it that much - she read most of it but never quite finished. I'd still love to do this as …
  • @Michael_S_Miller said: Great review. I will add a tidbit of trivia. Several years after Dread came out Eppy made a serious push to try to sell it to non gamers. He even got a both at a horror movie convention. It didn't go well, but he tried. …
  • I'd play it if someone wanted to run it, but I probably wouldn't run it myself. I am interested in reading more about the setting though. I bought Gatecrashing, and will one day get Sunward and Rimward, I expect. You know - the geography books.
  • @rossum Thanks, @dr_mitch I think the film will get around the limitations of the setting by having a lot of close-ups of the characters when in threatening situations. This is a standard horror style of filming anyway (lets viewers experience th…
  • To play naval military scenarios in the vein of Horatio Hornblower or Captain Aubrey. @clash_bowley could not doubt give you a hundred scenarios - he wrote a whole series of books to do just this, beginning with In Harm's Way for Napoleonic adventur…
  • @Ray_Otus Those are all great arguments for E-books. For me, personally, they don't outweigh the stuff I lose. I do have to admit that I bought a few books that are so large I might never read them! The Annotated H.P. Lovecraft, for example. It didn…